You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Member News

Gregory A. Masters, MD, FACP receives 2021 Laureate Award

(February 2021) The Delaware Chapter presented the 2021 Laureate Award to Dr. Gregory Masters. The Laureate Award honors Fellows and Masters of the College who have demonstrated a commitment to excellence in medical care, education, research, and service to the community. It is the highest award given by individual ACP chapters. In his work serving patients in various clinical settings, conducting research and contributing significantly to the medical literature, and serving as a mentor and leader, Dr. Masters epitomizes the qualities of a Laureate award winner.

2021 Laureate Award Brochure

Heather Ragozine-Bush, MD, FACP receives 2021 Hospitalist Award

(February 2021) Dr. Ragozine-Bush is our Chapter's 2021 Hospitalist Award winner. She is an academic hospitalist who serves in a variety of leadership and clinical roles within the Christiana Care Health System, including positions as the Associate Program Director of the Internal Medicine Residency Program and Head of the Board Review Program. Dr. Ragozine-Bush is an outstanding clinician, colleague, educator, and mentor and we are pleased to recognize her with the Hospitalist Award.

John Donnelly, MD, FACP receives 2021 Lang Award

(February 2021) Dr. John Donnelly is this year's recipient of the Lang Award. Dr. Donnelly serves as Director of Medical Education, Dept. of Medicine at Christiana Care as well as Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics, Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University. Many residents and physicians have benefitted from his leadership and dedication.

Varun Malayala, MD, MPH, FACP, FHM, featured in ACP ImPACT

(April 2020) Dr. Varun Malayala was featured for his rural medicine advocacy work. He is a co-founder of a nonprofit organization, Physicians for American Health Care Access, and continues to push for policies and resources to support rural medicine.

Read the article

February 2020 Meeting Award Recipients

(February 2020) During the Chapter meeting, we recognized the outstanding contributions of the following members:
Tabassam Salam, MD, FACP - Laureate Award
Rani Singh-Patel, DO - Hospitalist Award
Ercila Arias, MD, FACP Leonard Lang Award

Resident/Fellow and Medical Student Abstract and Oral Presentation Winners

(February 2020) Congratulations to the following medical students and residents for their award-winning abstracts and presentations!

Medical Students

Abstract Winner – Blake Shoemaker MS4 PCOM - Granulomatosis with Polyangiitis: Early Disease Manifestations with Otologic Findings

Poster Winner – Nicole Scaramella, MS4 SKMC - A Tale of Two Pathogens


Abstract Winner - Fazad Mohamed DO – Crashing into a Diagnosis: Neurocysticercosis, A Cause of New-Onset Seizure

Clinical Vignette Winner - Daniel Hurley DO – Consider Gabapentin Toxicity with Acute Movement Disorders

R. Bradley Slease, MD, MACP advances to ACP Mastership

(May 2020) Congratulations to R. Bradley Slease, MD, MACP (Wilmington) who has  been awarded Mastership of the College and will be honored during the Convocation Ceremony at the 2020 Internal Medicine Meeting. To be considered for Mastership, the candidate must have made a notable contribution to medicine. This includes but is not limited to teaching, outstanding work in clinical medicine (research or practice), contributions to preventive medicine, improvements in the delivery of health care, or contributions to medical literature. 

Have you received an award, appointment, certification or other honor? Have you done some interesting volunteer work, had an article published, or received a promotion? We'd like to share your good news in this section of the Chapter Web site. Please e-mail items of interest to our Chapter's Executive Director, Sandi Selzer.