Member News

Phyllis A. Guze, MD, MACP selected for ACP National Award for her mentorship of women in medicine

(May 2021) Dr. Guze was officially recognized with the Elizabeth and Emily Blackwell Award for Outstanding Contributions to Advancing the Careers of Women in Medicine during the 2021 Internal Medicine Meeting. Dr. Guze is currently Professor of Medicine, Emeritus at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA. As an active Consultant for academic medicine, she is involved in assisting in the development of new medical schools and LCME accreditation processes. Dr. Guze is considered to be a national leader in medical education.

Neil R. Powe, MD, MACP receives ACP National Award for Clinical Medicine

(May 2021) Dr. Powe was officially recognized with the John Phillips Memorial Award For Outstanding Work In Clinical Medicine during the 2021 Internal Medicine Meeting. Dr. Powe is Chief of Medicine at the Priscilla Chan and Mark Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital and the Constance B. Wofsy Distinguished Professor and Vice-Chair of Medicine at University of California San Francisco where he serves as administrative leader of the Department of Medicine at San Francisco’s main public hospital providing care to the underserved.

Dr. Robert M. Wachter selected for advancement to Mastership

(May 2021) Dr. Wachter was officially recognized with ACP Mastership during the 2021 Internal Medicine Meeting. Masterships are awarded because of “personal character, positions of honor, contributions towards furthering the purposes of the ACP, eminence in practice or in medical research, or other attainments in science or in the art of medicine.” Dr. Wachter is Professor and Chair of the Department of Medicine at University of California San Francisco. He coined the term “hospitalist” in a 1996 New England Journal of Medicine article and is often considered the father of the hospital medicine, the fastest growing specialty in the history of modern medicine. He is past president of the Society of Hospital Medicine and past chair of the American Board of Internal Medicine.

Members of California Chapters win awards in 2021 ACP National Abstract Competition

(May 2021) Congratulations to the following medical students and residents/fellows for their outstanding work!

ePoster winners
John W Pietrykowski (medical student) - "Non-typical Nontuberculous: M. kansasii Fournier gangrene"
Garrett Cohen, MD (resident) - "Rash - The Initial Presentation of Angioimmunoblastic T-Cell Lymphoma - A Real Head Scratcher"
Muhammad Majeed, MD (resident) - "Necrotizing Soft Tissue Infections of Proximal Limb in IV Drug Users: An Ominous Sign"

Virtual presentation winner
Timothy Yang, MD (resident) - "Empowering Physicians to Address Caregiver Burden: A Novel Educational Module"

If you have any current news to share about yourself or a colleague that we can celebrate, please e-mail it to Gus Chavez.