You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Arkansas Governor's Newsletter June 2017

Arkansas Chapter Banner

Omar T. Atiq, MD, FACP, ACP Governor

Omar T. Atiq, MD, FACP, ACP Governor


Governor's Message

Hi Folks,

IM 2017 in San Diego from March 30th to April 1st, could not have happened in a better location or better weather. It was a superb venue for intellectually stimulating relaxation and camaraderie. The educational program was outstanding, with diverse and timely topics and high quality presentations. The Board of Governors meeting earlier in the week addressed the pressing issues of the day including affordable access to health care for all Americans, public health concerns and maintenance of certification.

Our Arkansas contingent was one of the largest ever though we could certainly accommodate more. Bob Hopkins and Dan Rahn were honored with ACP Mastership, and Veryl Hodges and Miguel Villagra were inducted as Fellows. We are proud of their achievements. We celebrated with an Arkansas Chapter dinner after the Convocation at Lou & Mickey's. It was fun, besides an opportunity to meet with some of our newest members. The following evening, our Chapter joined Alabama, Louisiana and Mississippi for a Reception at the Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina.

The ACP Leadership Day In Washington, D.C., on May 23rd and 24th, gathered scores of your colleagues from all around the country to learn about the American Health Care Act and to lobby their congressional delegations for ensuring that ACP priorities are addressed in the new law, including affordable access to health care, reducing administrative burden on physicians, GME funding and research spending. I was joined by Dr. Nisha Viswanathan and Dr. Wedad Rahman to represent our Chapter. It was wonderful to have two fresh, young physicians advocating for the ideals we all espouse.

The preparations for the Annual Chapter meeting in the fall, September 22-23, 2017, are being finalized by our talented Scientific Program Committee. As before, expect an invigorating program. This year, the ACP EVP, Dr. Darilyn Moyer will be our guest from the National Office. Please mark your calendars!

Thank you.

Omar Atiq, MD FACP

Governor, AR Chapter, American College of Physicians



Become a Physician Ambassador to Serve Veterans

The Department of Veterans Affairs has created the Physician Ambassador Program to enhance and improve health care services for Veterans and their families in the United States, through physician volunteers.

Visit the website.



New ACP Policy on Regulation of Credentialing and Licensing

The Board of Regents has approved a new ACP policy, “Position Statement on Regulation of Credentialing and Licensing “ developed by the Health & Public Policy Committee with input from the Education & Publication Committee and the Medical Practice & Quality Committee.

Read the statement here.



New Members – Last Six Months

Welcome to our new members!

Matthew Alberti, DO Marissa De La Paz Wilbur T Peer, MD
Nathan Albright, DO Eric J Del Giacco, MD FACP Shil Punatar
Raegan L Austin Matthew Dinehart Mahiry T Romero Salinas, MD
Jackson Bagby Ahmed Elshareif Tatsiana Savenka
Karah A Baggett William Engle Mehul Shah
Madelyn Bagwell Kayla Floyd Mukesh K Sharma, MD FACP
Jordan E Ball Claire Foster Julie Sherrill
Alan Baltz Tyler Fugere Steven M Shrum, MD FACP
Timothy Baty Nidhi R Gandhi Joshua Stadler
Michael Belt, MD Leighton K Harned, MD Benjamin Tharian, MD,MBBS FACP
Andrew J Bergeron Gracen E Hauk, MD John D Tillack
Erica Blustein Dina Helina Theodore A Toth, MD
Andrew Bradsher Derrick Henry Martin Tremwel
Kayla Bryant Ellen Hubbell, MD Dorothy Trenter
Travis Burnett Claire Hubbell, MD MBA Jackson Troxel
Katherine E Byrd Stephanie Inabnet John Ukadike
Mikaila Calcagni Maggie Jones Stephen D Wagner, MD
Tsung Yen Chen, MD Jason Kimbel, MD Cody Webster
Almas Chughtai, MD Madison Lampkin Joshua Wilkes
Jeremy Cohen Cassandra Lautredou Kenneth Williams
Seth Coleman, MD Kenneth A Lee Alexandra Wise-Ehlers
Amanda Compadre Zhuo Liu, MD Mason Young
Samantha J Conner Jon McCurdy David Zimmerman, MD
Isabella M Curbelo O’Dell Maria Dolores Molineros, MD  



New Fellows – Last Six Months

Eric J Del Giacco, MD FACP
Mukesh K Sharma, MD FACP
Steven M Shrum, MD FACP
Benjamin Tharian, MD,MBBS FACP



Photo Gallery

IM 2017 San Diego, CA

New Fellows

Poster Presentations

ACP Leadership Day 2017