You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are here

Rod Wilson Memorial Leadership Day Scholarship Program for Alaska WWAMI Students

Selection of Rod Wilson Leadership Day Scholar


  • 3rd or 4th year Alaska WWAMI student
  • Good academic standing
  • Demonstrated interest in learning more about using the political system to the betterment of health
  • Interest in a career in Internal Medicine

Selection committee:

  • Alaska WWAMI director (Dennis Valenzeno PhD)
  • Coordinator for Student Teaching, Department of Medicine, University of Washington School of Medicine (Doug Paauw MD, FACP)
  • Alaska ACP Governor (Robert W. Bundtzen, MD, FACP)

Nominations from:

  • The selection committee
  • Members of the Alaska chapter, ACP
  • Alaska WWAMI medical student body

Submit nominations to Molly Southworth, MD, FACP, Alaska Chapter Governor at

Nominations should be solicited using the following format:
The Alaska Chapter of the American College of Physicians (ACP) is soliciting nominations for the Rod Wilson Leadership Day Scholarship. The Scholarship recipient will join a delegation of physicians from the ACP Alaska Chapter at ACP's Annual Leadership Day in Washington, DC. Leadership Day activities include advocacy and media training, meeting with key members of Congress and updates on political issues important to the delivery of medical care. The Scholar will be selected from 3rd or 4th year Alaska WWAMI students in good academic standing who are interested in learning more of how the political system can be used to the betterment of health and are interested in a career in Internal Medicine.

The Scholarship is a memorial to Dr. Rodman Wilson, a general internist who served as the first governor of the Alaska Chapter of ACP. He practiced medicine in Anchorage from 1958-1982 and then served as Director of Public Health until 1987. He also served as President of the Anchorage Medical Society, President of the Alaska State Medical Association, and as Interim Director of the Alaska State Medical Association. He was the Alaska State Medical Association Physician of the Year on three different occasions. These are just a few of his services to the medical community, honors and accomplishments. Dr. Wilson had an interest in politics and ran unsuccessfully for the Alaska State Legislature. Dr. Wilson died in December 2003. It is in honor and memory of one of the medical pioneers of Alaska that the Scholarship was developed.

Please submit the names of students that you would like to nominate for the Scholarship to Robert W. Bundtzen, MD, FACP ( by February 1. The scholarship recipient will be notified of the selection by March 1.