You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Chapter News

BOR Action on Fall '21 BOG Resolutions

summary of Board of Regents (BOR) actions on resolutions debated at the Fall 2021 Board of Governors (BOG) virtual meeting is now available. Resolutions initiated by ACP members and endorsed by a chapter council and the BOG become ACP policy when adopted by the BOR.

If you have an idea you'd like to suggest to ACP, consider submitting a resolution to our chapter. 

Congratulations New Alabama Chapter Fellows

  • Arun Rajasekaran, MBBS FACP
  • Omer Iqbal, DO FACP
  • Allison P Rogers, MD FACP
  • Paulisa H Ward, MBBS FACP

Congratulations to the Alabama Chapter's newest Fellows. Fellowship in the College is an honor. Being an FACP® is a distinction earned from colleagues who recognize your accomplishments and achievements over and above the practice of medicine. The most important considerations for ACP Fellowship are excellence and contributions made to both medicine and to the broader community in which the internist lives and practices. 

 Congratulations New Alabama Chapter Fellows

(July 2021) Congratulations Rachel T Seaman, MD FACP and Ahsan Wahab, MBBS FACP who have been elected Fellows of the College. 

Alabama Chapter Members Named for National Award and Mastership

(April 2021) I have great news about three of our colleagues! The American College of Physicians has awarded two Masterships and one national award to members of the Alabama Chapter!

Pink Folmar MD, FACP, has been awarded Mastership in the College. Pink has been a highly regarded internist for over 40 years. He was managing partner for the Simon-Williamson Clinic, a large multi-specialty group in Birmingham, where he spent most of his practice career. Later he practiced in rural Brundidge. He has given selflessly as a preceptor for medical students and residents throughout his career. Pink has been active at every level of organized medicine, from County Medical Society to the Presidency of the state medical association and representation at the AMA and national internal medicine organizations. He has been an active Alabama Council member and has served as member and chair of our awards committee and as our current treasurer. He previously received Laureate and Advocacy awards from our chapter. He remains active with ACP and with the Alabama Medical Alumni Association, where he has been a strong advocate for developing scholarships for minority medical students.

Seth Landefeld MD, FACP, also has been awarded Mastership. Seth is Chair of the Department of Medicine at UAB and an earlier recipient of our Chapter’s Laureate Award. As a geriatrician, he has made significant contributions to improving practice and increasing safety for older patients. Despite administrative demands, he continues to serve regularly as a ward attending at University Hospital. In a stellar academic career in England, Yale, Harvard, Case Western, UCSF, and UAB, Seth also has built programs in leadership development and has mentored scores of faculty and trainees at every stage of his work. He is a past president of the Society of General Internal Medicine, and he serves on the US Preventive Services Task Force and the American Board of Internal Medicine. In 2011 he received the SGIM Robert J. Glaser Award for “Exceptional Contributions to Education and Research.”

Robert M. Centor MD, MACP, UAB Professor of Medicine, is the recipient of the ACP’s Jane F. Desforges Distinguished Teacher Award. He began his medical career at the Medical College of Virginia, becoming UAB Director of the Division of General Internal Medicine in 1993. He served as interim dean of the Tuscaloosa regional campus of the UA School of Medicine and later was dean of the Huntsville regional campus. His research has focused in the area of medical decision-making, and he has published widely about diagnosis and management of sore throats. He has pioneered innovative teaching models including ambulatory morning report and clinical problem-solving. A past president of the Society for Medical Decision Making, the Association of Chiefs of General Internal Medicine, and the Society for General Internal Medicine, he also is a past member and chair of the ACP Board of Regents. Bob serves as an attending physician at the Birmingham VA Medical Center, and he is the host of the Annals On Call podcast.

Mastership (MACP) in the ACP recognizes Fellows who have been selected because of “integrity, positions of honor, impact in practice or in medical research, or other attainments in science or in the art of medicine.” Masters must be highly accomplished persons demonstrating impact in practice, leadership, or in medical research.

The Jane F. Desforges Distinguished Teacher Award (Established 1968) is bestowed upon a Fellow or Master of the College who has demonstrated the ennobling qualities of a great teacher as judged by the accomplishments of former students. These students should have been inspired by the nominee and achieved positions of influence in the field of medical education, primarily as teachers.

Please join me in congratulating our award recipients and in celebrating their contributions to our great Chapter and the ACP!

William A. Curry MD, MACP

Governor, Alabama Chapter ACP

 Congratulations New Alabama Chapter Fellows

(March 2021) Congratulations to Justin G Hovey, MD, FACP and Hennessey H Williams, MD, FACP, who have been elected Fellows of the College. 

Alabama Chapter YouTube Channel - New Videos

(Summer 2020) - AL ACP YouTube: Videos on PPE, Starting a Drive Thru COVID-19 Testing Site, I.D. Doc who recovered from COVID-19