You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

Alabama Governor's Newsletter May 2017

Alabama Chapter Banner

Gustavo R. Heudebert, MD, MACP, ACP Governor

Gustavo R. Heudebert, MD, MACP, ACP Governor


Governor's Message - Gustavo R. Heudebert, MD, MACP

The weather has been spectacular in Alabama the Beautiful the last few weeks and I felt it was time for the chapter members to hear from the Governor's desk.

The spring meeting in San Diego was once again a resounding success. I had the opportunity to attend a few of the lectures and once again the high quality of the presentations was a common occurrence. From the exceptional update in Neurology by the inimitable Samuel Martin to the always informative and fun Clinical Pearls from the Mayo Clinic faculty, to the highly competitive Doctors Dilemma and the mesmerizing talk from Anthony Fauci, head of the National Institute of Allergy, Immunology, and Infectious Diseases in regards to Emergent Infections. As always there were lectures encompassing the whole range of internal medicine specialties as well as long hours dedicate to the EHR, improving the efficiency of a practice, preparing for MACRA, and provocative discussions about the future of health care in the United States.

The two days prior to the Scientific meeting was time for the Governors to attend the Board of Governors (BOG meeting). Two sessions were dedicated to discussion and eventual approval of resolutions for further discussion by the Board of Regents. As always, the range of topics contained in the Resolutions reflected both national matters as asking for support of the Old Americans Act by the ACP, some with more of an international flavor to it as Recognizing Hate Crime as a Public Health Issue, to others that had a more regional flavor to it like matters related to Narrow Networks and Direct Primary Care practices. Not all of the BOG meeting was hard work as we had a wonderful Class of 2019 dinner overseeing the San Diego Bay and even a wonderful view of a sunset from the Coronado Hotel. This latter adventure was done by taking advantage of an afternoon that was designed for the new Governors and Governors-Elect, with the Class of 2019 being halfway on his mandate.

It has been two years seen I became the Governor and in the next couple of weeks you will be receiving a ballot containing the names of two wonderful chapter members that have generously submitted their respective names to be the next Alabama ACP Governor. Once elected this person will become the designated Governor-Elect until the spring of 2018 where the title changes to Governor-Elect and finally becomes the Governor in the Spring of 2019. During their time as Governor-Elect, this individual attends the Fall BOG meeting to start receiving training to become the next Governor of their chapter.

Finally an update from our chapter. Due to inclement weather, the winter meeting of the Alabama Council had to be cancelled. In spite of missing that gathering the Council has been busy in a number of areas like identifying the chapter Laureate (Awards Committee), working hard on identifying two candidates to become the next Governor (Nominations Committee), and helping organize the upcoming chapter meeting. As you know, this will be the second year we are doing the scientific meeting with our colleagues from Mississippi. It has been a real pleasure to work closely with them on what I believe will be another spectacular chapter meeting. The Spring meeting will be filled with excellent lectures on a variety of topics of relevance to primary care practice as well as a SEP module to help earn MOC points. The spirited Doctors Dilemma competition pitting our training programs from MS and AL will be featured in the afternoons of Friday and Saturday. We are very lucky to have the current CEO of the ACP, Dr. Darilyn Moyer to speak to the chapters as well as to conduct a Town hall session. Finally rumors are circulating that the golfing competition between AL and MS will continue this year at the spectacular golf course across from The Grand.

By the time you are reading this communication, and if you have not registered yet, it is likely the block of rooms assigned to the scientific would be all sold. Our chapter administrator has done their due diligence and identified two hotels in the Fairhope area that have rooms available for those dates at competitive prices. Information is posted on the chapter website.

I hope you continue to enjoy your Spring and hope to see you at The Grand in a short few weeks.



New Members – Last Six Months

Nida Ahmed, MD
Sarosh Akhtar
Chaitanya Allamneni, MD
Jesse A Aquim
Anooshah Ata
Luke Bailey
Shirin Banu, MBBS FACP
Roy Barco, MD PhD
Brett Barlow
Rachel E Bartsch
Lisa M Bianco
Katherine Bischoff De Caires
Kimberly Braun
Erin Britt
Victoria R Brown
Rachel E Brown
Kristen Brown, MD
Bruce E Burns, MD FACP
Benjamin R Butler
Awalpreet S Chadha, MBBS
Bliss Chang
Pavani Chintalapani, MBBS
Sherwin Chiu
Chad Colon
Erin Contratto, MD
Jordan Crocker, MD
William A Curry, MD MACP
Rebecca V Curtiss, MD
Brock J Daughtry
Jared Davis, MD
Cartney L Davis
Aldo De Ferrari, MD
Amber Dixon
Leah M Dlugolecki
Zachary Doegg, MD
Daniel Eagle
Michael Ewing
Khurram Fareed, MD,MBBS
Connor M Gillies
Justin Giordano
Leigh A Graziano
William Griffin
Bryan B Grissett
Kenneth C Guile
Fatima J Haqqani
Zac Hart
Syed Hasan, MD
John Herndon
Neha Hingorani, MD
Ti Hoang
Michael R Holland
Stephanie B Hopp
Jessica Houston
Patricia J Hughes
Jinwoo Hur
Jerry W Jackson, MD FACP
Seth A Jarrell, MD
Andre Johnson
Samina Karim
Jessica Kempton, MD
Basima Khan
Eric Kreps
Shani T Lampley, MD
Taylor L Larson
Jordan E Lawson
Sora Lee
Helman Li
Molly Lisenby
Jordan Lowery
Sarah Marucci
Courtney Massey
Darlene Mathis, CRNP
Matthew McCurdy
Anthony G Mina
Melissa M Mohnal
James P Molyneux
Chris Moser
Zachary Mosher
James Mynard
Shashanna Ndong, MD
John Michael Nipper, Jr MD
Anthony Nix Jr, MD
Axel Olson, MD PhD
Nicolas J Palmeri
Prathyusha Pamidi
Shrikanth T Parthasarathy
Sunny D Patel
Elizabeth Pinkason
Jeffrey Plante
Samuel J Pouncey
Dipa K Puwar
Mona Rahimi
Khalid Rasheed, MD FACP
Amir Razani
Carlos Reyes-Sacin, MD
Jayla Robinson
Raul H Rodriguez
Boone Rountree
Ayman Saad, MD
Dylan C Salbador
Sarah Schaefer, MD
William Schneider, MD
Nemil A Shah, MD
Kinchit K Shah, MD
Bryce Simes
Thomas K Spain, Jr
Starr Steinhilber, MD
Jonathan D Stroup
Stephen Stuart
David M Tenney
Keandrea Titer, MD
Anh Thu Tran
Andreis Trenins, MD
Eric Turner
Amisha D Vadodoria
Mary Vamenta, MD
Rasmi Vattamparambil
Sandeep Virk, MD
Daniel Vo
Ashley Vorenkamp, MD
David Wade
Keifer P Walsh
Gustave Weiland
Brian W Wells, MD
Brian Westbrook
Brian J Western
Cameron M. White
Rebecca Williamson
Blake D Winton
Ruo P Zhu, MD



New Fellows – Last Six Months

Shirin Banu, MBBS FACP
Bruce E Burns, MD FACP
Jerry W Jackson, MD FACP
Khalid Rasheed, MD FACP