You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

ACP Honors Japan Chapter with an Evergreen Award

At the 2010 Internal Medicine Meeting, ACP presented ten Evergreen Awards and two Special Recognition Awards to honor Chapters that created new programs that strengthened the chapter and increased member communication and involvement.

The Japan Chapter received the 2010 Evergreen Award for their Women's Committee. Here is a brief description of the chapter's effort.

To encourage female physicians in Japan to advance their careers and actively contribute to society, the Japan Chapter created a Women's Committee. Upon its inauguration in 2007, the Japan Chapter's Women's Committee created an email distribution list of all female members to allow them to communicate directly with each other. Using this network, the Women's Committee achieved a "decision-making by both genders" status in all Chapter Committees that is seldom achieved in other medical societies in Japan. In 2008, the Committee conducted a survey on mutual partnership between male and female physicians. This survey generated a great deal of public interest and received attention from several medical societies and TV programs. The Women's Committee also established an annual luncheon at the chapter meeting. These luncheons, which are open to all, have witnessed a steady increase in the number of attendees each year as well. From these meetings, participants recognized the importance of networking and sharing opinions. Since the creation of the Women's Committee, every Japan Chapter Committee includes at least one female member. The total number of women members increased from 53 members in April, 2007, to 128 members on October 27, 2009, an increase of over 140%.

Picture of the 2010 Evergreen Winners

2010 Evergreen Winners

Pictured starting from the front left:
Ann Tennett , Maria E. Pinto, MD, FACP , Mark E. Mayer, MD, FACP

Pictured starting from the back left:
Julie A. Blehm, MD, FACP , Kiyoshi Kurokawa, MD, MACP , Haiko Nellen Hummell, MD, FACP , Ana Maria Lopez, MD, FACP , G. Waldon Garriss, MD, FACP , S. Kalani Brady, MD, FACP , Nitin S. Damle, MD, FACP , Carla Biggert , Eileen Moser, MD, FACP , Michael Rein, MD, FACP , Richard K. Kasama, MD, FACP

Read about other previous Evergreen Awards your chapter has received: