You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

You are using an outdated browser.

To ensure optimal security, this website will soon be unavailable on this browser. Please upgrade your browser to allow continued use of ACP websites.

You are here

ACP Announces New Masterships and Awardees for 2020-2021

The Awards Committee is pleased to announce that the Board of Regents has approved the following individuals and institutions to receive College awards and Masterships for FY 2020-21. If you would like to personally congratulate any of the new awardees or MACPs, please contact John Haefele, Administrator, Board of Regents and Governance Activities, at

Please join us in congratulating the awardees and new MACPs.

John Phillips Memorial Award for Outstanding Work in Clinical Medicine
Neil R. Powe, MD, MACP
Oakland, California

James D. Bruce Memorial Award for Distinguished Contributions in Preventive Medicine
JoAnn E. Manson, MD, FACP
Beverly, Massachusetts 

Alfred Stengel Memorial Award for Outstanding Service to the American College of Physicians
David L. Bronson, MD, MACP
Moreland Hills, Ohio

Harriet P. Dustan Award for Outstanding Work in Science as Related to Medicine
Blase A. Carabello, MD
Charleston, South Carolina

John M. Carethers, MD, MACP
Ann Arbor, Michigan

Jane F. Desforges Distinguished Teacher Award
Robert M. Centor, MD, MACP
Mountain Brook, Alabama

Joseph P. Cleary, MD, MACP
Norwalk, Connecticut

Ralph O. Claypoole Sr. Memorial Award for Devotion of a Career in Internal Medicine to the Care of Patients
James A. Hotz, MD, MACP
Albany, Georgia

Nicholas E. Davies Memorial Scholar Award
Jeremy A. Greene, MD
Baltimore, Maryland

Outstanding Volunteer Clinical Teacher Award
Mary M. Newman, MD, MACP
Lutherville, Maryland

Joseph F. Boyle Award for Distinguished Public Service

Oscar E. Edwards Memorial Award for Volunteerism and Community Service
Edem S. Agamah, MD, FACP
Springfield, Illinois

Alvan R. Feinstein Award
Louis D. Saravolatz, MD, MACP
Grosse Pointe Shores, Michigan

Walter J. McDonald Award for Early Career Physicians
Sarah G. Candler, MD, MPH, FACP
Houston, Texas

Joseph E. Johnson Leadership Award
Shreya Trivedi, MD
New York, New York

Herbert S. Waxman Award for Outstanding Medical Student Educator
Andrew P. J. Olson, MD, FACP
Roseville, Minnesota

W. Lester Henry Award for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
Thomas A. L. Lincoln, MD
Granby, Massachusetts

Samuel Eichold II Memorial Award for Contributions in Diabetes
Guillermo E. Umpierrez, MD, MACP
Atlanta, Georgia

ACP Award for Distinguished Contributions to Behavioral Medicine
Christopher W. Shanahan, MD, MPH, FACP
West Roxbury, Massachusetts

ACP Award for Outstanding Educator of Residents and Fellows
Anthony F. Suffredini, MD, FACP
Rockville, Maryland

ACP Award for a Distinguished Contribution by ACP National or Chapter Staff
Eve C. Swiacki
Philadelphia Pennsylvania

Steven E. Weinberger Award for Physician Executives/Leaders
Donald Berwick, MD
Newton, Massachusetts

Elizabeth and Emily Blackwell Award for Outstanding Contributions to Advancing the Careers of Women in Medicine
Phyllis A. Guze, MD, MACP
Los Angeles, California


Khan Abul Kalam Azad, MBBS, MD, MACP
Dhaka, Bangladesh

Steven Roderick Bailey, MD, MACP
Shreveport, Louisiana

Eileen D. Barrett, MD, MPH, MACP
Albuquerque, New Mexico

Matt N. Bien, MD, MACP
Brookings, South Dakota

Julie A. Blehm, MD, MACP
Fargo, North Dakota

Lin A. Brown, MD, MACP
Lyme, New Hampshire

John B. Bundrick, MD, MACP
Rochester, Minnesota

Roberto D'Achiardi-Rey, MD, MACP
Bogota, Colombia

Apostolos P. Dallas, MD, MACP
Roanoke, Virginia

G. Patrick Ecklar, MD, MACP
Columbus, Ohio

Jeannine Z. Engel, MD, MACP
Charlottesville, Virginia

John E. Erickson, MD, MACP
Portland, Maine

William M. Fogarty Jr., MD, MACP
Saint Louis, Missouri

Pink L. Folmar Jr., MD, MACP
Hoover, Alabama

Heather E. Gantzer, MD, MACP
Minneapolis, Minnesota

Susan V. George, MD, MACP
Worcester, Massachusetts

Aaron E. Glatt, MD, MACP
Oceanside, New York

Mary Carol Greenlee, MD, MACP
Grand Junction, Colorado

J. J. Gutierrez-Nunez, MD, MACP
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico

Christine S. Hunter, MD, MACP
Arlington, Virginia

Rhett L. Jackson, MD, MACP
Norman, Oklahoma

Joseph C. Kolars, MD, MACP
Ann Arbor, Michigan

Shyam Kottilil, MBBS, MACP
Bethesda Maryland

C. Seth Landefeld, MD, MACP
Birmingham, Alabama

Bruce A. Leff, MD, MACP
Baltimore, Maryland

Mark A. Levine, MD, MACP
Shelburne, Vermont

Joseph M. Li, MD, MACP
Needham, Massachusetts

Thomas G. McGinn, MD, MPH, MACP
New York, New York

Jose Rogelio Mendez, MD, MACP
Panama, Panama

Alejandro Moreno, MD, MPH, JD, MACP
Austin, Texas

Patrick E. Mottram, MD, MACP
Slidell, Louisiana

James J. O'Connell, MD, MACP
Boston, Massachusetts

Patrick G. O'Connor, MD, MPH, MACP
New Haven, Connecticut

Cheryl W. O'Malley, MD, MACP
Tempe, Arizona

Genevieve L. Pagalilauan, MD, MACP
Seattle, Washington

Kerri L. Palamara, MD, MACP
Boston, Massachusetts

Jan E. Patterson, MD, MACP
San Antonio, Texas

Steven R. Peskin, MD, MACP
Belle Mead, New Jersey

COL Arnyce R. Pock, MC USAF, MACP
Alexandria, Virginia

Shakaib UR Rehman, MD, MACP
Scottsdale, Arizona

Christina M. Reimer, MD, MACP
Timnath, Colorado

Roger A. Renfrew, MD, MACP
Skowhegan, Maine

Nancy A. Rigotti, MD, MACP
Boston, Massachusetts

Keijiro Saku, MD, MACP
Fukuoka, Japan

Aquiles Rafael Salas Jimenez, MD, MACP
Caracas, Venezuela

Gerald I. Shulman, MD, PhD, MACP
East Haven, Connecticut

M. Kevin Smith, MD, PhD, MACP
Nashville, Tennessee

Louis S. Snitkoff, MD, MACP
Albany, New York

Ben F. Thompson, MD, MACP
Lake Charles, Louisiana

Guillermo E. Umpierrez, MD, MACP
Atlanta, Georgia

Scott A. Vogelgesang, MD, MACP, FACR
Iowa City, Iowa

Robert M. Wachter, MD, MACP
San Francisco, California

Patricia I. Wathen, MD, MACP
San Antonio, Texas