Previous Winners

Lloyd R. Evans, MD, FACP 1986 1992 Donald B. Hunton, MD, FACP 1997 Joseph Patrick Murphy, MD, FACP 2003 Daniel S. Klein, MD, FACP 2005 Darryl D. Bindschadler, MD, FACP 2007 Harmon H. Davis II, MD, FACP 2008 Robert J. Davis II, MD, FACP 2020 Thomas Niethammer, MD, FACP 2021 James F. Bush, MD, MACP 2022 Michael D. Tracy, MD, FACP

> Wyoming Chapter 2023 Laureate Award



Robert J. Stuart Jr. MD, FACP



Dr. Robert J. Stuart Jr. grew up in Eugene, Oregon and graduated from the University of Oregon in 1965. He married his wife Sandra shortly after graduation and moved to Portland, Oregon. Sandy taught school for the four years that Robert was attending the University of Oregon Medical School, graduating in 1970. Initially Dr. Stuart was a rotating Intern and

delivered more than one hundred babies at San Bernardino County Hospital. During his 2nd and 3rd year he was an Internal Medicine Resident affiliated with UCLA. Robert and Sandy then moved to Long Beach Memorial Hospital for a fellowship in Cardiology, a program affiliated with the University of California at Irvine.

Dr. Stuart practiced Internal Medicine and Cardiology in Long Beach for 15 years. He accepted a position as Medical Director for Memorial Hospital and served for six years. In 1995 he was recruited to serve as the first Vice President of Medical affairs at Poudre Valley Hospital in Fort Collins, Colorado. He joined a group of Internal Medicine Doctors for two years in Fort Collins and retired in 1999. In 2000 Dr. Stuart was recruited to be the Vice President of Medical at Cheyenne Regional Medical Center.

In 2005 he was encouraged and supported by the then Governor of the Wyoming American College of Physicians H Davis MD FACP for Fellowship.

Dr. Stuart has enjoyed serving as Secretary/Treasurer for the past four Governors of the Wyoming Chapter of the American College Physicians.

The Laureate Award honors Fellows and Masters of the College who have demonstrated by their example and conduct an abiding commitment to excellence in medical care, education, or research and in service to their community, their Chapter, and ACP. It is with distinct pleasure that this year the Wyoming Chapter of ACP presents the Laureate Award to Robert J. Stuart Jr. MD, FACP.