• rss
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin

New Officers and Board Officers Installed During ACP-ASIM Annual Session

PHILADELPHIA -- (April 25, 2002) A new President and Chair of the Board of Regents and of Governors assumed office during the 2002 Annual Session of the American College of Physicians-American Society of Internal Medicine (ACP-ASIM), held April 11-14, 2002, at the Pennsylvania Convention Center in Philadelphia. More than 5,700 physicians and medical students attended the meeting, an increase over last year's figure.

All of the officers' terms are one year except for the new Treasurer, elected triennially. The terms began at the College's annual business meeting, Saturday, April 13, 2002. Outgoing 2001-2002 ACP-ASIM President William J. Hall, MD, FACP, of Rochester, N.Y., officially introduced the following new leaders for 2002-2003:

Sara E. Walker, MD, MACP, of Columbia, Mo.; President. An internist and rheumatologist, Dr. Walker is professor of internal medicine at University of Missouri-Columbia, where she sees patients and performs research in lupus and other autoimmune diseases.

Cecil B. Wilson, MD, FACP, of Winter Park, Fla; Chair, Board of Regents Dr. Wilson is an internist in private practice in Orlando and Winter Park.

Cyril "Kim" Hetsko, MD, FACP, of Madison, Wisc; Treasurer (2002-2005) Dr. Hetsko is chief medical officer with COLA (formerly the Commission on Office and Laboratory Accreditation) in Columbia, Md., and a clinical professor of medicine at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

David C. Dale, MD, FACP, Seattle, Wash.; Chair, Board of Governors An internist and hematologist, Dr. Dale is a professor of medicine at the University of Washington.

Munsey S. Wheby, MD, FACP, Charlottesville, Va.; President-elect Dr. Wheby, an internist and hematologist who is also certified in nutrition, is professor of medicine, senior associate dean and associate dean for graduate medical education at the University of Virginia School of Medicine in Charlottesville.

Mary T. Herald, MD, FACP, Summit, N.J.; Chair-elect, Board of Regents An internist and endocrinologist practicing in Westfield, N.J., Dr. Herald is also an associate clinical professor of medicine at Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons.

Jeffrey P. Harris, MD, FACP, Winchester, Va; Chair-elect, Board of Governors Dr. Harris has practiced internal medicine and nephrology in Winchester, Va., since 1977. He is a clinical associate professor of medicine at the University of Virginia School of Medicine and serves as a preceptor for third-year students in the university's community-based teaching program.

(Note to Editor: More detailed information is available. Contact Lynda Teer at 215-351-2655 or lteer@acponline.org)

Social Media

Share/Subscribe to ACP News

Bookmark and Share

RSS Feeds

Related Websites

Corporate Info