• rss
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin

ACP Announces New Masters and Awardees for 2008

The Awards Committee is pleased to announce that the Board of Regents has approved the following individuals and institutions to receive College awards and Masterships at Internal Medicine 2008. In addition, one physician (denoted with an asterisk) approved last year who was unable to attend Internal Medicine 2007 will attend the 2008 Convocation ceremony to receive his Mastership. If you would like to personally congratulate any of the new awardees or Masters, please contact Meghann Williams, Coordinator, Awards-Convocation and Diversity, by e-mail at mewilliams@acponline.org, 800-523-1546, ext. 2714 or 215-351-2714; or Martha Cornog, Manager of Membership Services, mcornog@acponline.org, ext. 2696, or 215-351-2696.

An additional notification will be sent to all who wrote supporting letters for nominations, announcing the winners and inviting supporters to enhance nominations for the next cycle plus submit new nominations.

Please join us in congratulating the awardees and new Masters.

John Phillips Memorial Award
Brian L. Strom, Penn Valley, Pennsylvania

James D. Bruce Memorial Award
Lewis M. Drusin, New York, New York

Alfred Stengel Memorial Award
Mary T. Herald, Summit, New Jersey

American College of Physicians Award
Robert M. Chanock, Chicago, Illinois

Edward R. Loveland Memorial Award
NEA Clinic Charitable Foundation, Jonesboro, Arkansas

William C. Menninger Memorial Award
David R. Rubinow, Baltimore, Maryland

Jane F. Desforges Distinguished Teacher Award
Matthew A. Araoye, Makurdi, Nigeria

The Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Foundation Award #1
Mardge H. Cohen, Chicago, Illinois

The Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Foundation Award #2
Alivio Medical Center, Chicago, Illinois

Ralph O. Claypoole Sr. Memorial Award
Alvin J. Thompson, Mercer Island, Washington

Nicholas E. Davies Memorial Scholar Award
M. Therese Southgate, Chicago, Illinois
Rafael Campo, Boston, Massachusetts

Outstanding Volunteer Clinical Teacher Award
Robert G. Mennel, Dallas, Texas

Joseph F. Boyle Award
Rep. Marcy Kaptur, Toledo, Ohio

Oscar E. Edwards Memorial Award
James S. Withers, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Alvan R. Feinstein Memorial Award
The Feinstein Award will not be given in 2008.

Walter J. McDonald Award for Young Physicians
Michael C. Sha, Carmel, Indiana

Joseph E. Johnson Leadership Award
Lawrence M. Phillips, Floral Park, New York

Herbert S. Waxman Award for Outstanding Medical Student Educator
Arif R. Sarwari, Morgantown, West Virginia


Valiere Alcena, White Plains, New York
Joseph S. Alpert, Tucson, Arizona
Jamie S. Barkin, Miami Beach, Florida
Henry R. Black, New York, New York
Glenn D. Braunstein, Santa Monica, California
Edwin C. Cadman, Honolulu, Hawaii
Miguel E. Campos, Lima, Peru
Harris R. Clearfield, Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania
David C. Dale, Seattle, Washington
Thomas D. Dubose Jr., Winston Salem, North Carolina
David B. Duggan, Skaneateles, New York
William E. Duncan, Rockville, Maryland
Herbert L. DuPont, Houston, Texas
Paul E. Epstein, Gladwyne, Pennsylvania*
Lawrence L. Faltz, Sleepy Hollow, New York
Ruth-Marie E. Fincher, Augusta, Georgia
John P. Fitzgibbons, Allentown, Pennsylvania
Eugene P. Frenkel, Dallas, Texas
John I. Gallin, Potomac, Maryland
Robert B. Gibbons, Denver, Colorado
Frank M. Graziano, Madison, Wisconsin
David Green, Chicago, Illinois
Stephen B. Greenberg, Houston, Texas
Birgir Gudjonsson, Reykjavik, Iceland
Kalpalatha Guntupalli, Houston, Texas
Richard M. Hodes, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Jay A. Jacobson, Salt Lake City, Utah
Stephen R. Jones, Portland, Oregon
Kenneth Kaushansky, San Diego, California
Anwaar A. Khan, Lahore, Pakistan
Donald M. Knowlan, Fairfax, Virginia
Joel S. Levine, Aurora, Colorado
Ronald V. Loge, Dillon, Montana
Mary D. Nettleman, East Lansing, Michigan
Richard S. Panush, Livingston, New Jersey
Paul E. Pepe, Dallas, Texas
Gregory A. Poland, Rochester, Minnesota
Syed Mohibur Rab, Karachi, Pakistan
Robert D. Robinson Jr., Zionsville, Indiana
H. Denman Scott, Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Neil J. Stone, Winnetka, Illinois
William M. Tierney, Indianapolis, Indiana
Allan R. Tunkel, Long Branch, New Jersey
Paul D. Webster III, Augusta, Georgia
Arnold L. Widen, Chicago, Illinois
Anne Winkler, Springfield, Missouri
Thomas C. Wood, Anchorage, Alaska

* Received Mastership last year but could not attend Convocation.

Page updated: 12-12-07