• rss
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin

2006 Evergreen Award Winner

The Tennessee Chapter received the 2006 Evergreen Award for the following program:

Expanding Fellowship Applications as a Recruitment Strategy for Membership Increases
The Tennessee Chapter sought to increase Fellowship applications from those members who were viewed as outstanding internists in their office or hospital practices. With the assistance of their Council, the Governor and Governor-elect planned a long-strategy to increase total membership by increasing Fellowship applications as a method of increasing interest and activity in the College. The chapter was divided up into six major geographic areas. Using the Chapter database, each of these areas was screened for Nonmembers, Members and Fellows. The chapter identified Fellows who could be utilized to recruit Members and Fellows and Members who were eligible for advancement. Using their "Members-Who-Were-Not-Yet-Fellows" list, Council members representing those areas took the lists and consulted opinion leaders who were already Fellows in their area. The Council identified Members who were especially deserving of Fellowship and the names were communicated to the Governor's Office. Their qualifications were reviewed on the ACP Member Directory, and then screened on the ABIM web site to confirm training and certification in Internal Medicine. A personal letter was written by the Governor. In addition, personal contact to the potential Fellow was made by the Council member and opinion leader regarding the completion of the Fellowship application. The Chapter also drafted an article for their Spring and Fall Newsletters promoting Fellowship. A similar approached was used to recruit nonmembers to membership. Both quantitative and qualitative results were reported with the number of Fellows and Members growing by 9.6% in just six months.

Picture of the 2006 Evergreen Winners

2006 Evergreen Winners

Representatives from 11 ACP Chapters accepted the Evergreen Awards at Annual Session. The awards honor chapter efforts that ranged from developing programs for students to increasing membership.

Pictured starting from the front left: Stephen T. Miller, MD, FACP, Sandra Abadie Kemmerly, MD, FACP, David L. Bronson, MD, FACP, Anthony J. Grieco, MD, FACP, Eric M. Mazur, MD, FACP, Kay M. Mitchell, MD, FACP, Michael D. Ammazzalorso, MD, FACP, Harry W. Edstrom, MD, FACP, Guillermo L. Acuna, MD, FACP.

Starting from the back right: Stephen Peterson, MD, FACP, Steven J. Walerstein, MD, FACP, David B. Duggan, MD, FACP, Craig S. Kitchens, MD, FACP, Paul F. Howard, MD, FACP, Philip A. Mackowiak, MD, FACP, William Rodriguez-Cintron, MD, FACP.

Contact Information

Richard G. Lane, MD, FACP,
Governor, Tennessee Chapter

Renee Arnott
Executive Director
Ph: 615-460-1657
E-mail: renee.arnott@tnmed.org