• rss
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin

ACP Honors Tennessee Chapter with an Evergreen Award

At the 2010 Internal Medicine Meeting, ACP presented ten Evergreen Awards and two Special Recognition Awards to honor Chapters that created new programs that strengthened the chapter and increased member communication and involvement.

The Tennessee Chapter received the 2010 Evergreen Award for their Energizing Young Physicians for Active Chapter Membership. Here is a brief description of the chapter's effort.

In 2007, the Tennessee Chapter sought to increase participation, provide tangible value related to chapter membership and foster leadership skills among young physicians. The chapterís Governor's Council was solicited to nominate young physician (YP) representatives to a newly created Tennessee Council of Young Physicians (CYP). Six representatives were chosen with attention to achieving a mix of race, gender, generalists vs. hospitalists, and private practitioners vs. academicians. The CYP met and proposed sponsorship of young physicians to participate in the LEAD program and Leadership Day as their first call of business. In the second year, these original objectives continued and a series of dinner meetings was also planned. The dinner meetings were held in three separate cities in order to reach a larger audience. Each dinner had a speaker on financial planning for YP and was well attended. In this, the third year of the program, a concerted effort was made to increase YP membership on the Governor's Council. Young physicians were also recruited to serve as judges for the Associatesí poster competition at the annual chapter scientific meeting and a YP was chosen as one of the plenary speakers. The chapter anticipates that the expanding role of YP in chapter activities will increase both chapter membership and meeting attendance. The Governor's Council views this as an investment in the future of the chapter and the profession.

Picture of the 2010 Evergreen Winners

2010 Evergreen Winners

Pictured starting from the front left:
Ann Tennett , Maria E. Pinto, MD, FACP , Mark E. Mayer, MD, FACP

Pictured starting from the back left:
Julie A. Blehm, MD, FACP , Kiyoshi Kurokawa, MD, MACP , Haiko Nellen Hummell, MD, FACP , Ana Maria Lopez, MD, FACP , G. Waldon Garriss, MD, FACP , S. Kalani Brady, MD, FACP , Nitin S. Damle, MD, FACP , Carla Biggert , Eileen Moser, MD, FACP , Michael Rein, MD, FACP , Richard K. Kasama, MD, FACP

Read about other previous Evergreen Awards your chapter has received:

Page updated: 06/17/10

Contact Information

Richard G. Lane, MD, FACP,
Governor, Tennessee Chapter

Renee Arnott
Executive Director
Ph: 615-460-1657
E-mail: renee.arnott@tnmed.org