• rss
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin

Member News Archives

Kudos to John G. Black, MD, FACP of West Columbia, and Dawn E. Clancy, MD, FACP of Johns Island! Both were recognized as one of ACP's "Top Ten Key Contacts" during Leadership Day 2008 in Washington, DC.

We are pleased to announce that our chapter won an Evergreen Award in 2007! We are also the proud recipient of the Chapter Excellence Award for 4 years running! The Chapter Excellence Award recognizes chapters which successfully meet the standards for managing a chapter.

Charles S. Bryan, MD, MACP was the 2007 recipient of the prestigious Nicholas E. Davies Memorial Scholar Award for Scholarly Activities in the Humanities and History of Medicine.

Dawn E. Clancy, MD, FACP, SC Chapter Governor, was awarded a Top Ten Key Contact Special Recognition Award in 2004, 2005, and 2006. We greatly appreciate Dr. Clancy's diligence in expressing her views to our members of Congress about Medicare reimbursement cuts, health information technology (HIT), reforming the medical liability system, reducing the number of the uninsured, and other key issues of concern to internists and their patients throughout the past year. The Key Contact Awards Program was implemented in 1995 as a way to recognize those individuals who have made exceptional efforts in response to legislative requests. Winners are chosen on the basis of the number and quality of contacts with their legislators during the year, and the award is presented annually during the College's Leadership Day.

James A. McFarland, MD, of Columbia was awarded the Chapters' Volunteerism and Community Service Award in 2004 (posthumously). The award has since been named after Dr. McFarland.