• rss
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin

2006 Evergreen Award Winner

The Maryland Chapter received the 2006 Evergreen Award for the following program:

Women in Medicine Subcommittee-Highlighting Program on Part-time & General Contract Negotiation for Women
The Maryland Chapter recognized the increasing number of women going into medicine and wanted to ensure that their interests and needs were being addressed. They formed a Women in Medicine Subcommittee in December of 2004. To increase the visibility of the Subcommittee, they created a Web site discussion group on Yahoo Health Groups which identified the goals of the committee, upcoming activities, discussion group postings, and photos. In addition to creating a forum for ACP Maryland Women Physicians to network, they planned and executed successful events. One event was focused on contract negotiations for women addressing the art of negotiation when seeking a new position, as well as addressing negotiation with the myriad of insurance carriers. The Subcommittee plans to host additional dinner meetings for their women physicians. The Subcommittee has successfully created a forum for women physicians at all levels of training and practice and has increased the sharing of information. These activities will hopefully translate into better career and family balance, improved efficiency, salary equity, and mentorship and networking opportunities for all women physicians.

Picture of the 2006 Evergreen Winners

2006 Evergreen Winners

Representatives from 11 ACP Chapters accepted the Evergreen Awards at Annual Session. The awards honor chapter efforts that ranged from developing programs for students to increasing membership.

Pictured starting from the front left: Stephen T. Miller, MD, FACP, Sandra Abadie Kemmerly, MD, FACP, David L. Bronson, MD, FACP, Anthony J. Grieco, MD, FACP, Eric M. Mazur, MD, FACP, Kay M. Mitchell, MD, FACP, Michael D. Ammazzalorso, MD, FACP, Harry W. Edstrom, MD, FACP, Guillermo L. Acuna, MD, FACP.

Starting from the back right: Stephen Peterson, MD, FACP, Steven J. Walerstein, MD, FACP, David B. Duggan, MD, FACP, Craig S. Kitchens, MD, FACP, Paul F. Howard, MD, FACP, Philip A. Mackowiak, MD, FACP, William Rodriguez-Cintron, MD, FACP.

Contact Information

Stephen D. Sisson, MD, FACP,
Governor, Maryland Chapter

Maryellen Woodward
920 Trinity Street
Baltimore, MD 21202
Chapter Administrator
Office: 410-332-8444
Fax: 410-636-3403
E-mail: mew4work@aol.com