• rss
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin

Internal Medicine 2012 Update

Dear Chapter Members:

The 2012 Annual Meeting in New Orleans was a great success. The city is always a great host with much fine food and entertainment to be had. The program was outstanding and many rooms were packed. It was good to meet and network with many colleagues from all over the world.

Nine new Fellows marched through Convocation at the April 2012 meeting: William Adair, Brad Allen, Brandon Dickey, Thottathil Gopan, Dona Gray, Todd James, Angela Johnson, Arif Nazir, and Gordon Reed. I would like to thank these physicians on their outstanding achievement.

New Fellows gather before Convocation

Michael Sha, MD, FACP, Immediate Past Governor (center), gathers with two Fellows

Fellows marching into Convocation


Indiana welcomes our two new Masters of the College: Dr. Steven Beering and Dr. Merrill Benson, who were honored at Convocation on April 19.

Six Associates (Ben Tritle, Jaques Daoud, Joseph Khalil, Kapil Mehta, Matthew Nobari, and Andrew Williams, all from St. Vincent) and one IUSOM medical student (Micah Hatch) presented posters at the national meeting.

Micah Hatch, IU School of Medicine Student.

I would like to congratulate the Indiana Doctors' Dilemma team (representing St. Vincent Hospital) of Jasmin Chaudhary, Luis Nunez, and Vrushank Patel for winning their first round in an impressive comeback victory and reaching the national semifinals. An Indiana team has not reached the semifinals since 2004.

Left to right: St. Vincent Vice President/Academic Affairs Robert Lubitz, Luis Nunez, Jasmin Chaudhary, Vrushank Patel.

In conjunction with the Kentucky, Tennessee, and North Carolina Chapters, we had a reception at the Red Fish Grill on Bourbon Street on April 20. It was a huge success and there was standing room only for most of the event. I would like to thank Donna Seawards, our Executive Director, and Wilma Cooley of the Tennessee Chapter for organizing this event.

Reception Photos:

Remember that the Indiana Chapter Meeting will be held November 9-10, 2012 at the Marten House Hotel & Conference Center. Please reserve this important date; the Program Committee is working hard to deliver an exceptional program this year.

Page updated: 5/2/12

[PDF] Acrobat PDF format. Download Acrobat Reader software for free from Adobe. Problems with PDFs?

Contact Information

Indiana Chapter Governor:
J. Matthew Neal, MD, MBA, CPE, FACP, FACE
Email: jneal6@iuhealth.org
(765) 747-4350; Fax (765) 751-1451

Donna Seawards
Executive Director
Email: donnaseawards@gmail.com
Ph: 623-225-5527

Chapter Address:
4319 West Clara Lane, PMB #288
Muncie, Indiana 47304