• rss
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin

ACP Honors Illinois Downstate Chapter with a 2011 John Tooker Evergreen Award

2011 Evergreen Winners

At the 2011 Internal Medicine Meeting, ACP presented six John Tooker Evergreen Awards to honor Chapters that created new programs that strengthened the chapter and increased member communication and involvement.

The Illinois Downstate Chapter received the 2011 John Tooker Evergreen Award for their program, "After Hours With ACP: A Webinar Series". Here is a brief description of the chapter's effort.

Members of the Illinois Chapter Downstate Region are spread out over a very large geographic region, making it difficult for members to attend meetings in a central location. This prompted Chapter leaders to look to alternative ways to provide educational programming for their members. They decided to create a series of webinars on different topics. To date, the Chapter has hosted three separate webinars on topics including the residency application process, the patient-centered medical home, and health reform implementation. All three webinars were well attended and in survey results, the participants mentioned how informative the sessions were and how the sessions allowed for personal interaction despite not being face-to-face. The Chapter has scheduled monthly webinars (the third Monday of each month from 5:30-6:30pm) through the end of the fiscal year and beyond. The webinars have increased communication between members and Chapter leadership and have been a cost-effective way to provide members with additional chances to further their education.

Picture of the 2011 Evergreen Winners

2011 Evergreen Winners

Pictured starting from the back left:
John Derrickson, Donna Seawards, Susan Thompson Hingle, MD, FACP, Terence M. Brady, MD, FACP, Steven J. Walerstein, MD, FACP, Richard J. Simons, MD, FACP, Joseph J. Fins, MD, FACP, and Robert M. McCann, MD, FACP

Pictured starting from the front left:
Darilyn V. Moyer, MD FACP, Ranita Sharma, MD, FACP, Mary E. Rappazzo, MD, FACP, Linda Lambert, Richard K.. Kasama, MD, FACP, and CAPT Jeffrey B. Cole, MC USN, FACP

Read about other previous Evergreen Awards your chapter has received:

Page updated: 05/13/11