• rss
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin

2005 Evergreen Award Winner

The Florida Chapter received the 2005 Evergreen Award for the following program:

Resident Advocacy: Resident Involvement with State and National Legislative Visitation Programs

The Florida Chapter a resident mentoring program to educate and involve chapter Residents in state and national legislative activities. Residents were first introduced to advocacy techniques such as face-to-face lobbying, letter writing, faxing and email through a packet of information assembled by the chapter. They learned then how the chapter manages its state-based advocacy program and what resources are available so they could know how to work within that system. Third, the residents learned which legislators represent them and how to contact them. Fourth, the residents became familiar with the legislation related to internal medicine, both in Florida and nationally and how to discuss key issues. The residents accompanied experienced members to Tallahassee on a weekly basis and to Washington DC for Leadership Day. The Chapter sent invitations to the Chair of the Council of Associates, who contacted other Associates from each of the state's residency programs. They identified a resident from each program that was interested in participating. A packet of information was developed for each resident including Visitation Appointment Schedule, Chapter's Legislative Agenda, How to Communicate with Legislators, and Chapter Legislative Reports. Chapter residents are now actively involved in the Florida Chapter ACP advocacy and key contact programs. Chapter leadership was re-energized by the residents, and this mentoring program was truly an inspiration to all who participated. The program, now active for two years, has doubled the number of Associate members attending the state and national legislative visitation program and increased participation in the College activities.

Picture of the 2005 Evergreen Winners

2005 Evergreen Winners
Representatives from 13 ACP Chapters accepted the Evergreen Awards at Annual Session. The awards honor chapter efforts that ranged from developing a state-wide electronic health records (EHR) infrastructure to increasing student membership.

Pictured starting from the front left: Kay M. Mitchell, MD, FACP, Florida Chapter Governor, Anne Winkler, MD, FACP, Michael D. Ammazzalorso, MD, FACP, Ruth-Marie E. Fincher, MD, FACP, Anthony J. Grieco, MD, FACP, Israel Montes de Oca, MD, FACP.

Starting from the back left: Allan H. Goroll, MD, FACP, Janelle A. Rhyne, MD, FACP, Philip A. Mackowiak, MD, FACP, Craig S. Kitchens, MD, FACP, Florida Chapter Governor, Ernest L. Yoder, MD, PhD, FACP, , F. David Winter, Jr, MD, FACP, Stephen Peterson, MD, FACP, David L. Elson, MD, FACP, Herbert L. DuPont, MD, FACP, David B. Duggan, MD, FACP, Robert M. Lubitz, MD, MPH, FACP, Steven R. Craig, MD, FACP, David L. Bronson, MD, FACP.

Read about other previous Evergreen Awards your chapter has received: