• rss
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin

2006 Evergreen Award Winner

The Arizona Chapter received the 2006 Evergreen Award for the following program:

ABIM SEP Recertification Precourse to the State Scientific Meeting
The Arizona Chapter performed a needs assessment of their chapter meeting. They identified a desire with their members to complete a portion of their individual Continuous Professional Development Program towards recertification. As a result, the Chapter offered two SEP Recertification courses at their meeting. The Chapter's main goals was to enhance and complement the educational opportunities surrounding the annual chapter scientific session, reach out to members and nonmembers not traditionally attracted to the annual meeting and position the Chapter as the leader in the state in Continuing Education and the Recertification process. The Chapter selected two SEP modules to be presented in a single day as a precourse to their meeting. Four local faculty members were chosen and were paired together for each of the SEP modules. They volunteered their teaching services and did not receive an honorarium. Midwestern University Medical School located in Phoenix lent the chapter their audience response system. The Chapter decided to charge a fee of $100 (members) and $150 (nonmembers) per module. Marketing was a key factor in the precourse success. They made a concerted effort to market the Recertification Precourse both in-state and out of state. The Chapter received an overwhelming response from physicians selling out the course with 55 attendees.

Picture of the 2006 Evergreen Winners

2006 Evergreen Winners

Representatives from 11 ACP Chapters accepted the Evergreen Awards at Annual Session. The awards honor chapter efforts that ranged from developing programs for students to increasing membership.

Pictured starting from the front left: Stephen T. Miller, MD, FACP, Sandra Abadie Kemmerly, MD, FACP, David L. Bronson, MD, FACP, Anthony J. Grieco, MD, FACP, Eric M. Mazur, MD, FACP, Kay M. Mitchell, MD, FACP, Michael D. Ammazzalorso, MD, FACP, Harry W. Edstrom, MD, FACP, Guillermo L. Acuna, MD, FACP.

Starting from the back right: Stephen Peterson, MD, FACP, Steven J. Walerstein, MD, FACP, David B. Duggan, MD, FACP, Craig S. Kitchens, MD, FACP, Paul F. Howard, MD, FACP, Philip A. Mackowiak, MD, FACP, William Rodriguez-Cintron, MD, FACP.

Read about other previous Evergreen Awards your chapter has received:

[PDF] Acrobat PDF format. Download Acrobat Reader software for free from Adobe. Problems with PDFs?