• rss
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin

Nominate ACP Candidates for Outside Awards

Please consider nominating one of your colleagues for these awards offered by other institutions. These awards are not administered by the American College of Physicians. Please contact the institutions that handle each award with questions.

Abraham Flexner Award for Distinguished Service to Medical Education

The Flexner Award is granted annually by the Association of American Medical Colleges to an individual for extraordinary contributions to the medical education community. The award recognizes the highest standards in medical education and honors individuals whose impact on medical education is national in scope. Any individual who has made a significant contribution to academic medicine is eligible for nomination. For more information about the Flexner Award, including descriptions of past recipients, access www.aamc.org/initiatives/awards/flexner.

Perry A. Lambird Memorial Excellence in Medicine Award

The Lambird Award is granted annually by COLA and recognizes a person who exemplifies COLA and Dr. Lambird’s values and ideals. Specifically, the nomination criteria encompass the following:

  • Nationally recognized person within the healthcare industry
  • Can potentially contribute to COLA’s mission in some fashion
  • Has a demonstrated record of contributing to:
    • Physician education in clinical or laboratory medicine, or
    • Physician service, or
    • Quality standards in medicine, or
    • Has materially contributed to the improvement in patient care.

It is expected that the award recipient will present a 20-minute discussion of his/her expertise at the COLA awards luncheon. For more information about the Lambird Award, send an e-mail to dgwallace@COLA.org.

Lila A. Wallis Women’s Health Award

The Wallis Award is given each year by the American Medical Women’s Association to an individual whose lifetime achievements, accomplishments, motivation, mentorship, energy, and enthusiasm for women’s health, education, and research reflect the trailblazing achievements and influences in women’s health exemplified by Dr. Wallis, an AMWA Past President.

For more information about the Wallis Award, access www.amwa-doc.org, click on “Awards, Grants & Recognition” on the left, and follow the links.

Rodman E. Sheen and Thomas G. Sheen Award

The Sheen Award was created and endowed by Thomas Sheen to honor his brother, Dr. Rodman Sheen. The award is administered by the Sheen Trust through the Bank of America, advised by a committee of South Jersey physicians. For more information call 800-432-1000.

The award honors a physician who has made outstanding contributions to mankind through the fields of medicine and medical research. There are no restrictions by specialty or geographic location. Past awards have included a prize of $25,000.

Related Links

  • Past Leadership: Past Masters of the American College of Physicians, 1923 to the Present.
  • Convocation: Discover the tradition of Convocation at the American College of Physicians.

Meet ACP's Leadership

What will you learn from your Annals Virtual Patient?

Reviews of the World's Top Medical Journals - FREE to ACP Members! Annals Virtual Patients is a unique patient care simulator that mirrors real patient care decisions and consequences. CME Credit and MOC Points are available. Start off with a FREE sample case. Start your journey now.

Products and Resources for Patients

Products and Resources for PatientsACP has developed easy- to-use materials designed to help educate your patients on self-management of a wide variety of common health conditions. Order yours today!