• rss
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin

ACP Announces New Masters and Awardees for 2012

The Awards Committee is pleased to announce that the Board of Regents has approved the following individuals and institutions to receive College awards and Masterships at Internal Medicine 2012. If you would like to personally congratulate any of the new awardees or Masters, please contact Meghann Williams, Coordinator, Governance Relations, by e-mail at mewilliams@acponline.org, 800-523-1546, ext. 2714 or 215-351-2714.

An additional notification is being sent to all who wrote supporting letters for nominations, announcing the winners and inviting supporters to enhance nominations for the next cycle plus submit new nominations. A general call for new nominations will be issued in January.

Please join us in congratulating the awardees and new Masters.

John Phillips Memorial Award for Outstanding Work in Clinical Medicine
Rajiv Kumar, MD, MACP, Rochester, Minnesota

James D. Bruce Memorial Award for Distinguished Contributions in Preventive Medicine
COL Duane R. Hospenthal, MC USA, FACP, Fort Sam Houston, Texas

Alfred Stengel Memorial Award for Outstanding Service to the American College of Physicians
Bernard M. Rosof, MD, MACP, Huntington, New York

American College of Physicians Award for Outstanding Work in Science as Related to Medicine
Steven M. Holland, MD, Bethesda, Maryland
Aubrey R. Morrison, MD, FACP, St. Louis, Missouri

Edward R. Loveland Memorial Award for a Distinguished Contribution to the Health Field
CRUDEM Foundation, Ludlow, Massachusetts

William C. Menninger Memorial Award for Distinguished Contributions to the Science of Mental Health
Robert J. Ursano, MD, Kensington, Maryland

Jane F. Desforges Distinguished Teacher Award
Eugene C. Corbett Jr., MD, FACP, Palmyra, Virginia

Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Award #1 from The Rosenthal Family Foundation
Marcelo J. Wolff, MD, FACP, Santiago, Chile

Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Award #2 from The Rosenthal Family Foundation
K. Eric De Jonge, MD, and the Medical House Call Program of MedStar Health, Chevy Chase, Maryland

Ralph O. Claypoole Sr. Memorial Award for Devotion of a Career in Internal Medicine to the Care of Patients
Janet E. Gargiulo, MD, FACP, Albany, New York

Nicholas E. Davies Memorial Scholar Award for Outstanding Contributions to Humanism in Medicine
John L. Coulehan, MD, FACP, East Setauket, New York

Outstanding Volunteer Clinical Teacher Award
James H. Sipkins, MD, FACP, Evanston, Illinois

Joseph F. Boyle Award for Distinguished Public Service

Oscar E. Edwards Memorial Award for Volunteerism and Community Service
Arthur M. Fournier, MD, Miami, Florida

Walter J. McDonald Award for Young Physicians
Craig E. Cheifetz, MD, FACP, Falls Church, Virginia

Joseph E. Johnson Leadership Award
Andrew B. Trotter, MD, Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts

Herbert S. Waxman Award for Outstanding Medical Student Educator
Lisa Bernstein, MD, Atlanta, Georgia

American College of Physicians Award for Diversity and Access to Care
Monica B. Vela, MD, FACP, Chicago, Illinois

Samuel Eichold II Memorial Award for Contributions in Diabetes
Louis H. Philipson, MD, FACP, Chicago, Illinois


Mahmoud Aljurf, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Alpesh N. Amin, Anaheim Hills, California
Jack E. Ansell, New York, New York
COL Gregory J. Argyros, Olney, Maryland
Emil J. Bardana Jr., Portland, Oregon
Steven C. Beering, West Lafayette, Indiana
Merrill D. Benson, Indianapolis, Indiana
Robert W. Bradsher Jr., Little Rock, Arkansas
Virginia U. Collier, Newark, Delaware
Eugene C. Corbett Jr., Palmyra, Virginia
James E. Dalen, Tucson, Arizona
Andrew K. Diehl, San Antonio, Texas
Yul D. Ejnes, North Scituate, Rhode Island
Joseph J. Fins, New York, New York
Ethan D. Fried, Port Washington, New York
Jorge L. Hidalgo Sr., Belize City, Belize
Virginia L. Hood, Burlington, Vermont
Curtis R. Holzgang, Portland, Oregon
Peter Jacobs, Cape Town, South Africa
Paul L. Kimmel, Washington, District of Columbia
Nancy E. Lane, Sacramento, California
Richard V. Lee, Orchard Park, New York
COL Alan J. Magill, Silver Spring, Maryland
Eric M. Mazur, Norwalk, Connecticut
Robert D. McCartney, Saint Thomas, North Dakota
Aubrey R. Morrison, St. Louis, Missouri
Ann B. Nattinger, Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Vincent M. Nicolais, Columbus, Georgia
Jacqueline G. Parthemore, Rancho Santa Fe, California
Michael F. Rein, Charlottesville, Virginia
David L. Rimoin, Los Angeles, California
Noel I. Robin, Stamford, Connecticut
Randall L. Rosenblatt, Dallas, Texas
Jay D. H. Silverberg, North York, Ontario, Canada
Richard J. Simons, Hershey, Pennsylvania
Ned Snyder III, Houston, Texas
Susan E. Sprau, Santa Monica, California
John F. Stapleton, Arlington, Virginia
Barbara J. Turner, San Antonio, Texas
Antonios H. Tzamaloukas, Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Fumiaki Ueno, Kamakura, Kanagawa, Japan
Timothy J. Wilt, Minneapolis, Minnesota
Roy C. Ziegelstein, Baltimore, Maryland

Related Links

  • Past Leadership: Past Masters of the American College of Physicians, 1923 to the Present.
  • Convocation: Discover the tradition of Convocation at the American College of Physicians.

Meet ACP's Leadership

Sign-up for Physician & Practice Timeline text alerts and never miss another regulatory deadline!

Sign-up for Physician & Practice Timeline  text alerts and never miss another regulatory deadline!

Triggered text alerts aimed at keeping you on top of upcoming deadlines and details related to regulatory, payment, and delivery system requirements are available FREE of charge!
See sign-up instructions.

Pre-order MKSAP17 Complete and Save 15%!

Pre-order MKSAP17 Complete and Save 15%!

Enter priority code PR58 when ordering. Limited time only. Order now.