• rss
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin

ACP Announces New Masters and Awardees for 2011

The Awards Committee is pleased to announce that the Board of Regents has approved the following individuals and institutions to receive College awards and Masterships at Internal Medicine 2011. If you would like to personally congratulate any of the new awardees or Masters, please contact Meghann Williams, Coordinator, Governance Relations, by e-mail at mewilliams@acponline.org, 800-523-1546, ext. 2714 or 215-351-2714.

An additional notification is being sent to all who wrote supporting letters for nominations, announcing the winners and inviting supporters to enhance nominations for the next cycle plus submit new nominations. A general call for new nominations will be issued in January.

Please join us in congratulating the awardees and new Masters.


John Phillips Memorial Award for Outstanding Work in Clinical Medicine
Henry Masur, MD, MACP, Bethesda, Maryland

James D. Bruce Memorial Award for Distinguished Contributions in Preventive Medicine
David Schottenfeld, MD, FACP, Dalton, Massachusetts

Alfred Stengel Memorial Award for Outstanding Service to the American College of Physicians
William E. Golden, MD, MACP, Little Rock, Arkansas

American College of Physicians Award for Outstanding Work in Science as Related to Medicine
J. Larry Jameson, MD, FACP, Chicago, Illinois
Craig B. Thompson, MD, FACP, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Edward R. Loveland Memorial Award for a Distinguished Contribution to the Health Field
Respiratory Health Association of Metropolitan Chicago, Chicago, Illinois

William C. Menninger Memorial Award for Distinguished Contributions to the Science of Mental Health
Raquel Gur, MD, PhD, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Jane F. Desforges Distinguished Teacher Award
Ruth-Marie E. Fincher, MD, MACP, Augusta, Georgia

Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Award #1 from The Rosenthal Family Foundation
John F. Tisdale, MD, Bethesda, Maryland

Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Award #2 from The Rosenthal Family Foundation
Kathy A. Hebert, MD, Miami Beach, Florida

Ralph O. Claypoole Sr. Memorial Award for Devotion of a Career in Internal Medicine to the Care of Patients
Joseph V. Messer, MD, FACP, Glencoe, Illinois

Nicholas E. Davies Memorial Scholar Award for Outstanding Contributions to Humanism in Medicine
Michael A. LaCombe, MD, MACP, Augusta, Maine

Outstanding Volunteer Clinical Teacher Award
Melvin R. Kaplan, MD, FACP, Rancho Palos Verdes, California

Joseph F. Boyle Award for Distinguished Public Service
Senator Max Baucus, Billings, Montana

Oscar E. Edwards Memorial Award for Volunteerism and Community Service
Raymond Basri, MD, FACP, Middletown, New York

Alvan R. Feinstein Memorial Award
William M. Tierney, MD, MACP, Indianapolis, Indiana

Walter J. McDonald Award for Young Physicians
Erik A. Wallace, MD, FACP, Tulsa, Oklahoma

Joseph E. Johnson Leadership Award
Melanie L. Zupancic, MD, Springfield, Illinois

Herbert S. Waxman Award for Outstanding Medical Student Educator
Matthew J. Burday, DO, FACP, Wilmington, Delaware

American College of Physicians Award for Diversity and Access to Care
Shagufta Yasmeen, MBBS, FACP, Sacramento, California

Samuel Eichold II Memorial Award for Contributions in Diabetes
Diabetes Research Institute, Hollywood, Florida


Michael D. Ammazzalorso, Glen Cove, New York
Sharon Anderson, Portland, Oregon
W. Mark Armstrong, Dallas, Texas
Robert O. Bonow, Chicago, Illinois
Edward J. Burger Jr., Washington, District of Columbia
C. Patrick Burns, Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
David E. Bybee, Louisville, Kentucky
John D. Cantwell, Atlanta, Georgia
George E. Crawford, San Antonio, Texas
Robert J. Englund, Munsonville, New Hampshire
Patrick J. Fahey, Maywood, Illinois
Joe C. Files, Jackson, Mississippi
Jacqueline W. Fincher, Thomson, Georgia
Malcolm T. Foster Jr., Jacksonville, Florida
Laurence B. Gardner, Miami, Florida
Ruth B. Hoppe, Charlevoix, Michigan
James A. Hotz, Albany, Georgia
Thomas S. Inui, Indianapolis, Indiana
Francisco M. Joglar, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Mark A. Kelley, Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Robert C. Kimbrough III, Lubbock, Texas
Lynell W. Klassen, Omaha, Nebraska
Marc E. Lippman, Miami, Florida
Warren C. Lovinger Jr., Nevada, Missouri
John R. Maese, Staten Island, New York
Brian F. Mandell, Orange, Ohio
Norman J. Marieb, Orange, Connecticut
Stephen T. Miller, Memphis, Tennessee
Kay M. Mitchell, Jacksonville, Florida
RADM Brian P. Monahan, Kensington, Maryland
Jorge A. Motta, Panama City, Panama
Richard L. Neubauer, Anchorage, Alaska
Bergein F. Overholt, Knoxville, Tennessee
David N. Podell, PhD, Waterbury, Connecticut
George A. Porter, Portland, Oregon
Jorge L. Rakela, Scottsdale, Arizona
J. Fred Ralston Jr., Fayetteville, Tennessee
Rafael E. Ramirez, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Suhail Raoof, Syosset, New York
Jonathan I. Ravdin, Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Andrew I. Schafer, New York, New York
Walter F. Schlech III, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Victor F. Scott, Potomac, Maryland
Lawrence G. Smith, Great Neck, New York
Robert D. Sparks, El Dorado Hills, California
Edward A. Stehlik, Buffalo, New York
Kenneth G. Torrington, San Antonio, Texas
Marta G. Velasco, Santiago, Chile
Tsuyoshi Watanabe, Fukushima City, Japan
F. David Winter Jr., Dallas, Texas
Douglas P. Zipes, Indianapolis, Indiana

Related Links

  • Past Leadership: Past Masters of the American College of Physicians, 1923 to the Present.
  • Convocation: Discover the tradition of Convocation at the American College of Physicians.

Meet ACP's Leadership

Sign-up for Physician & Practice Timeline text alerts and never miss another regulatory deadline!

Sign-up for Physician & Practice Timeline  text alerts and never miss another regulatory deadline!

Triggered text alerts aimed at keeping you on top of upcoming deadlines and details related to regulatory, payment, and delivery system requirements are available FREE of charge!
See sign-up instructions.

Pre-order MKSAP17 Complete and Save 15%!

Pre-order MKSAP17 Complete and Save 15%!

Enter priority code PR58 when ordering. Limited time only. Order now.